GeneralIndustry News

Six Finalists in the Running for AOL Autos’ Technology of the Year Award

Six Finalists in the Running for AOL Autos’ Technology of the Year Award

The slate of six finalists for AOL Autos’ Technology of the Year Award have been named, each embodying the latest and greatest developments in automotive fuel economy, connectivity, telematics and active safety. Readers will now be charged with casting votes that will help determine which entrant takes the top honor.

Following a careful review of over 40 entries submitted by industry professionals, editorial staffers and readers alike, the judging panel has declared the finalists to be (in no particular order):

From midnight on November 19 onward, readers will be given the chance to vote for one of the six innovative technologies to take the top prize. The announcement and presentation of the honor to the victor will occur in Las Vegas at January’s 2014 Consumer Electronics Show.

Though it is certainly true that most readers of AOL Autos will not have had a personal opportunity to test the technologies in the running for the honor, they do have access to reviews written by site staffers, all of which are accompanied by videos explaining the finer points of each innovation. These summaries also include specific articulation of the reasons each finalist was selected by the judging panel. Once the readers’ choice is determined after voting closes, that selection will have the equal weight to the vote of one of the judges on the 14-judge panel.

AOL Autos editor David Kiley believes that the readership will have sufficient information to fairly judge the merits of each new technology offering, thanks to the detail provided in the site’s presentations. Those assessments, combined with the hands-on experience AOL Autos staffers enjoyed with each finalist, make for a thorough, accurate judging process.

In its inaugural technology contest last year, AOL Autos tapped the updated UConnect system from Chrysler as the top technological innovation, surging ahead of laudable submissions from Cadillac, Honda, Nissan and Ford.

The fuel economy category was a new addition to this year’s contest, largely because it is an arena that is seeing a major influx of technological development within the auto industry. Kiley asserted that since fuel economy innovations are so thoroughly intertwined with electronics, the decision to include this sector in an event affiliated with the Consumer Electronics Show is entirely fitting.

read more

San Diego Student Award $12,000 Scholarship

no thumb

Brendan Cotter, student at Universal Technical Institute (UTI) in Rancho Cucamonga, is one of two recipients of the Roger Penske Outstanding Student Award.

Cotter said, “I don’t know what to say. I’m blown away. I feel very fortunate.” The Roger Penske Outstanding Student Award is presented twice a year to two deserving students, issuing $12,000 scholarships. The other 10 campus finalists receive $500 cash awards.





Why did Cotter receive the award? Cotter, a new father and former high school teacher received the award due to his outstanding academic performance amongst his peers at UTI. “He truly exemplifies the type of student the award is designed to recognize,” said Veronica Meury, Vice President and executive director of UTI Foundation.

Even with the birth of his child, Cotter has not missed one day of class, named Student of Course 15 times and has maintained a 4.0 GPA. Cotter is well underway to completing the remainder of his diesel program education at UTI.

Congratulations to Brendan Cotter from The Penske Automotive Team. 





read more

2012 Audi A7 “Vehicle of the Year”

no thumb

Last week, the Motor Press Guild (MPG) will be presenting their first-ever “Vehicle of the Year” award to the 2012 Audi A7. Highlighting the Audi’s styling, handling and advanced technology, the automotive media association named the vehicle as the winner of their Car of the Year award last week.

A select panel of MPG members evaluated and chose five finalists over a two-month period. These members test and review cars on a regular basis. The final five were then ranked by the entire membership on MPG’s Track Day event, held October 11-12. Members rated the five vehicles based on safety, quality, value, performance and handling, design and style, environmental impact, and technology.

MPG’s president Laura Burstein described the A7’s win, saying, “It was a close battle, but the 2012 Audi A7 edged out the competition with its compelling combination of handsome styling, dynamic handling and advanced in-car technology. In this highly competitive market, it’s hard to be a stand out, but Audi did it with the A7.”

Last week, Laura Burstein presented the award to Audi of America President Johan de Nysschen. The award presentation was held during Audi’s press conference, at 4:40pm at the Audi Stand in the South Hall of the Los Angeles Convention Center. This was a great way to kickoff the Los Angeles Auto Show, which started Friday, November 18.

The A7 has also received several other awards, including two other “Car of the Year” awards from Automobile Magazine and Esquire.

The Motor Press Guild, based in LA, is the largest automotive media association in the United States. It is a non-profit organization comprised of a membership of automotive journalists, photographers, broadcasters, etc.

read more