no thumb

Ryan Briscoe has re-signed for the 2012 season with Penske Racing, meaning that the team will once again field a three-car challenge to Ganassi Racing.

Penske Racing has confirmed that it has re-signed Australian racing driver Ryan Briscoe for 2012, making it a third consecutive full season for the team’s line-up of Briscoe, Will Power and Helio Castroneves.

“We are excited to return with a three-car team in 2012,” said Tim Cindric, the president of Penske Racing. “The combination of Helio, Ryan and Will has been a formidable one on the track and they work very well together as teammates.”

The announcement confirms that the team have managed to find the additional resources to keep their three-car line-up running, and Cindric said that “Our goal all along has been to continue running three cars and thanks to our terrific partners, we have been able to make everything work from the business side.”

No announcement was made of the new sponsorship arrangements, and Cindic simply concluded by adding: “Now, all of our focus will be on developing the new Chevrolet IndyCar and getting ready for a strong return to the track in 2012.”

Since 2009 the line-up had delivered Team Penske 21 victories and 26 pole positions, with Power finishing runner-up in two consecutive championships by the narrowest of margins. The highlight for the team came this season at the Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma, there the trio locked out the top three positions from the end of qualifying through the entire race to the chequered flag in a matchless display of team and driver capability to thwart their arch rivals at Ganassi.

Following the formal announcement, Briscoe himself quipped on Twitter that: “It’s official! I don’t have to host Wheel of Fortune next year. Excited to return.”

Tags : briscoeIndyCarNascarPenske Automotivepenske racingtim cindric

Leave a Response